MESD is governed by an elected Board of Directors consisting of seven members.
Five members are elected from zones and two are elected at large.
Directors serve four-year terms and are not compensated for their services.


Email Leslie Nelson, Board Secretary

Board Activity Calendar, 2014-15

Board Book - Access to meeting agenda and packets

Francisco Acosta Jr. Position 3, Mid-County Zone -- Term Ends 6/30/17

Francisco "Frank" Acosta is a parent of five children. He currently works at Franklin High School and has been employed in K-12 for over 13 years. He has spent most of his adult life mentoring youth. Frank is a first generation college graduate.  "I am privileged to serve in this position, so that others may have their voices heard," Frank said.


Bernie Giusto (2013-14 Chair) Position 1, East Multnomah County Zone -- Term Ends 6/30/17

Bernie was elected to a four-year term in 2009. He is a native Oregonian and has been a Multnomah County resident for most of 59 years.  Bernie served as Multnomah County Sheriff from 2003-08; Multnomah County Undersheriff in 2002, Chief of Police for the City of Gresham from 1996-2002 and a member of the Oregon State Police for 22 years. 

He was elected to three separate terms as a member of the Gresham City Council.  He also served ten years as a member of the Tri-Met Board of Directors.  Bernie is a graduate of Willamette University.

Gary Hollands Position 5, North/Northeast Portland Zone -- Term ends 6/15

Gary was elected to the Board in 2011 for a four-year term. Gary is a business owner and a resident of Northeast Portland. He has been a long term care ombudsman and previously worked for the U.S. Forest Service. He is the father of five children, four of whom attend Portland Public Schools. He is a graduate of Benson High School and has studied business administration at Portland State University.


Nels Johnson, Position 2, At-Large -- Term ends 6/17

Nels was elected to a four-year term in 2013.  Nels is a contract lobbyist and an adjunct professor at Warner Pacific College.  He and his wife live in the Rose City Park neighborhood in NE Portland.  Nels received his B.A. from Whitworth University, his J.D. from Willamette University, and studied leadership at Harvard’s Kennedy School of Government.




Douglas Montgomery, Position 6, At-Large -- Term Ends 6/15

Doug was elected to the Board in 2011 for a four-year term.  Doug lives in the Grant Park neighborhood and he is retired from the Bonneville Power Administration.  He teaches part-time at Tillamook Bay Community College.  A graduate of Dartmouth College (BA) and Syracuse University (MPA and Ph.D.), he has served on many community, county and state boards and advisory committees since moving to Portland in 1975.


Kevin Spellman (2013-14 Vice Chair) Position 7, SE/SW Portland Zone -- Term Ends 6/15

Kevin was appointed to the Board in June, 2006 to fill a vacancy and elected for a four-year term in June, 2007 and re-elected again in 2011. He is self-employed, training and consulting with construction contractors and associated industry professionals. He is also a part-time instructor at Portland Community College. Kevin graduated from City of London College, and the University of Reading. He was born and raised outside London, England and has lived in Portland with his wife, Carol, since 1977.

Erica Thatcher, Position 3, Central Portland Zone -- Term Ends 6/17

Erica was elected to the Board in May, 2013 to a four-year term. She holds a Masters of Public Policy from The George Washington University. Erica has worked as a research analyst for the Oregon Employment Department and been in the Oregon Fellowship Program at Portland State University.







© 2004-2011 Multnomah ESD, Mailing address is P.O. Box 301039, Portland, OR 97294-9039, 11611 NE Ainsworth Circle, Portland OR 97220, Phone: 503-255-1841, Fax: 503-257-1519
For more information please Contact Us   |   Directions/Map   |   Website by: corralescreative »
Go to MESD homepage